Take Six: Six Spanish Women Writers



Take Six: Six Spanish Women Writers is an anthology of short stories by six outstanding Spanish women writers: Emilia Pardo Bazán (1851-1921), Carmen de Burgos (1867-1932), Carmen Laforet (1921-2004), Cristina Fernández Cubas (born 1945), Soledad Puértolas (born 1947) and Patricia Esteban Erlés (born 1972).

The stories span over one hundred years, starting with the indomitable Emilia Pardo Bazán, whose casual and often humorous protrayal of brutal domestic violence set a paradigm for the writers who followed her to explore every aspect of the roles imposed on women by a male-dominated society, delving into subjects ranging from love and betrayal to bereavement, arson and murder, without losing touch with the humorous side of seemingly impossible situations. Relatively few women writers are translated into English, and this anthology is an attempt to rectify that imbalance and to introduce readers to some truly captivating tales from Spain.

Edited and translated by Kathryn Phillips-Miles & Simon Deefholts.

ISBN 978 1 912868 76 6

Available from Blackwell’s

Read Buzz Magazine’s Review

Support for the translation of this book was provided by: